Saturday in Concord, Massachusetts

Yesterday, I spent the day in Concord and Lincoln with Tonya and Miss M. We did a lot and I think I’m going to break it up in multiple posts.

Today, I had my 5K St. Patrick’s Race and I also did my long training run. Everything went well and I was pleased.

We started our tour of Concord yesterday off by getting breakfast at the Main Streets Market & Cafe.

Trip to Concord, MA

It was very cute inside. I meant to take pictures of the menu boards. They used old window panes and wrote on the glass.

Trip to Concord, MA

I got 2 eggs, toast, bacon, fruit, and a cup of coffee! Yum! I’m glad that we got a heavy meal because we had a busy morning!

Trip to Concord, MA

Trip to Concord, MA

We did some window shopping on Main Street and saw lots of shops, like The Cheese Shop:

Trip to Concord, MA

And a lamp store with this outside:

Trip to Concord, MA

Priscilla Candy Shop
Trip to Concord, MA

One of my favorite pictures of the day: Miss M pointing at the Smarties.

Trip to Concord, MA

Here is a link to the town’s website. Here are some interesting tidbits about Concord. In future posts, I’ll provide more information on where we visited and how they tie to this:

“As the scene of the first battle of the American Revolutionary War (War for Independence) on April 19, 1775, it is considered the birthplace of the nation, where the “shot heard ‘round the world” for liberty and self government was fired.”

“During the middle of the 19th century, Concord was home to some of the greatest literary and transcendental minds in America. Authors Henry David Thoreau, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Bronson and Louisa Alcott, and Nathaniel Hawthorne all lived, worked and wrote in Concord, and signs of their presence in the community remain to this day through the abundance of historic and cultural resources offered.”

After seeing Downtown, we drove to the Sleepy Hollow Cemetery. That will be the next post….

5 thoughts on “Saturday in Concord, Massachusetts

  1. Pingback: Sleepy Hollow Cemetery, Concord, MA | Boston Rookie

  2. Pingback: Old North Bridge, Concord, Massachusetts | Boston Rookie

Leave a Reply

