An Ras Mor 5K

Erica ran the An Ras Mor 5K race on March 13, 2011.

The An Ras Mor 5K is organized by the Somerville Road Runners and hosted at the Asgard Irish Pub and Restaurant in Cambridge.

I tried to translate “An Ras Mor” from Gaelic and I think it’s roughly, “A Big Race”.

Before the race:

Here’s a map of the race.

It was a small loop around the Asgard Pub and then straight down Mass Ave (the street we live on), then a small loop right before Harvard Square, and then back down Mass Ave. It was neat running by our place, twice. Unfortunately, Benjamin was out of town that weekend, so it was a little different running and not having anyone to “be on the lookout for” during the race and finding them afterward.

What was neat during this race was Ken. After the turn around point, I came across a guy with a camera and a website (www.RunwithKen.com) listed on the back of his shirt.

He takes pictures as he runs. He got several of me. Here is his post about the run.

An Ras Mor 5K

An Ras Mor 5K

An Ras Mor 5K

Here is the race shirt. The race is the first in a series called the “New England Runner Pub Races”.

I took a few pictures after the race. I didn’t stick around, I had 4 more miles to run!

Ken put his pictures to a slideshow and added descriptions. It’s a 5 minute video, but you can let it load and then fast forward to around 4:15, where my pictures are. Or you can watch the whole thing and see what it’s like to see a race. I saw somethings and lots of people I didn’t see and I was even there. I think there may have been around 800-900 runners.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

