Some Like It Hot Chili Cook-Off

On Sunday afternoon, I walked to Harvard Square’s 4th Annual Some Like It Hot Chili Cook-Off contest!

A big crowd had formed and I saw a line, so I got into it. I wasn’t sure if it was for the whole event or just one table, so I asked the girls in front of me and it was for JP Licks. That’s a local ice cream chain.
Harvard Square

You’re looking at Chocolate Chili ice cream- yes, it was spicy. It caught me off guard and I started coughing! I couldn’t finish it. Kind of sad!

I then tried Grafton Street’s chili. Grafton Street is a place not too far from us and I’ve been for brunch and stopped by for a Halloween party.
Harvard Square

They included a small piece of corn bread:
Harvard Square

Next was Savenor’s Cincy-style chili with Buffalo:
Harvard Square

Harvard Square

I also tried Crema’s Cafe’s chili with sweet potatoes- it was different!
Harvard Square

Russell House Tavern’s BBQ Pit Smoked ChiliHarvard Square

Harvard Square

They definitely knew what they were doing:
Harvard Square

And were asking for votes:
Harvard Square

The voting process:
Harvard Square

Grab a ballot and then drop it off at the tent:
Harvard Square

Entertain provided by Afro Brazil:Harvard Square

Now, I only tried 4 out of the 9 entries, but I still picked the winner: Russell House Tavern!

The aftermath:
Harvard Square

2 thoughts on “Some Like It Hot Chili Cook-Off

  1. Soni

    I’ve never heard of such a thing!!!! Wish we had it here!!!! I cannot imagine chili ice cream–I probably would not have even tried it. YUCK!!!

    Sorry, that wasn’t nice. Years ago, Patsy had the family over for a chili supper (or lunch). Everything was separate-beans, onions, hot sauce etc etc etc. That was nice.

    Boston is certainly an interesting town!!! I’m glad you visit all these neat stores!!!
    hugs,

    Like

  2. Patsy Jenks

    Makes me hungry for chili – who would believe there were so many different kinds – kind of like meatloaf. Looks like fun and chili is a special winter treat. Hugs

    Like

Leave a Reply

