My new bike

20120613-203346.jpg

I got a bike last week! I have been wanting to get one and a new friend has been cycling for 3 years. So I mentioned something about wanting to get a bike and they were excited to help me. We checked Craigslist and saw one that night and got it!

20120613-203401.jpg

It’s several years old but was only taken out for a ride once or twice- so it’s in like-new shape! It’s a Women’s Trek Roadbike. I ordered a helmet and then we went out for my first ride last Saturday and we went for 18 miles!!!!

20120613-203416.jpg

I said I wanted to take it easy and just go 5 miles but what seemed like 20 minutes later, we had already hit 4 miles, so we kept going! We turned around at a town called Bedford and stopped at Lexington (near the Green) for a snack and a break. It was a great first ride.

20120613-203432.jpg

The route was less than a mile in the city of Arlington and then we were on a bike path and then back, so it was nice to be on a path with other bikers and runners, away from cars but it was a great introduction to cycling and I am hooked!

6 comments

    • I was injured for a few weeks so I couldn’t run- getting back into the swing of things! I can’t believe I missed exercising so much! Good to see you yesterday and thanks for the invite!

      Like

  1. Congratulations!!!!! I’m so happy for you!!!! You are FANTASTIC!!!!!

    I’m looking forward to seeing you when you’re in Louisville next week.
    Take care, lots of hugs,

    Like

  2. Congratulations on your new bike. I sure like to ride mine, but I have not done the mileage like you. And on your 1st ride. You are awesome. Looking forward to seeing you next week.

    Like

  3. I still can’t believe that mileage for your first ride. I say again – you have fantastic legs. I am so proud of your athletic abilities. Though I expect you were at least a little achy the next day.
    Hugs

    Like

Leave a Reply

