An update on life

Since blogging last, a WHOLE lot has gone on. Where to even start? The big ones were turning 30 and switching jobs.

20120817-165550.jpg

I’ll start with my job. I decided that I wanted to stay here in the Boston area and that meant getting a job here.

I got an offer mid-July and resigned from the employer I had been with since graduating- almost 7 years. I decided to take 2 weeks off between jobs. The first week being my birthday week (more later) and then taking a mini vacation out of the city.

20120817-171408.jpg

Yes, I turned 30! No big deal! Last year, I had made a list of 30 things that I wanted to do before my 30th birthday (thanks Lynn for the idea). I had a few things left including going to the The Top of the Hub for cocktails- so I decided that I wanted to do that with my girlfriends after having dinner.

20120817-171436.jpg

I did some pampering/spa things also during my birthday week, along with a friend taking me to the North End for dinner on my birthday and doing some sightseeing.

20120817-171513.jpg

Last week, I went on a mini vacation with a friend to Cape Cod for a few days …

20120817-171533.jpg

and then to the Jersey Shore and Atlantic City, where my friend grew up.

20120817-171550.jpg

I started my new job this week. Having to commute on public transportation is quite a change from working remotely. On an average day, it’s 45-50 minutes from door to door. Right now, I walk a block away, catch the bus (I have an app on my phone that tells how many minutes away the bus is), stay on it for 5 minutes, walk across the street and catch the train for a 20 minute ride, then take the escalator up and catch a bus for another 15 minutes and it drops me off in front of my building. I’ll be moving in 2 weeks (more later) and so the first bus ride will change but everything else will be the same.

On to the job itself! I’m called a Solutions Architect. It’s a business analyst role but somewhat more technical and very database centric. It’s with a small technology marketing company near the waterfront and harbor.

20120817-171614.jpg

In two weeks I move!!! I’m excited about this! It’s about 2 miles from where I am now but a much quieter neighborhood, on a major bus route, bigger and nicer, and with roommates more my age.

I’ve still been running and biking- and going to restaurants and events (so I have a back log of entries to do but I wanted and needed to do an update post like this)!

Happy Friday!

20120817-165444.jpg

6 comments

  1. Congrats on everything! This is such an exciting time for you! I just started a public transportation commute to work. It takes a lot of getting used to…but there is something fun about it. I’m sure the novelty will wear off for me soon 🙂

    Like

  2. This is great. And you look wonderful. The commute is yuck but you will manage. What a pretty view from the office window. Hugs.

    Like

  3. Love the colorful clothes!!!!! You look really wonderful!!!! Sorry about your commute but . . . such is life sometimes. You have a fantastic bunch of friends and that GREAT!!!
    Thanks for keeping us informed what’s going on in your life (I love hearing all the great things you do!!!)
    Take care,

    Like

Leave a Reply

