Brunching at Catalyst in Cambridge

Last Sunday, I went with the Boston Brunches to a great new(ish) place in Cambridge’s Kendall (Technology) Square area called Catalyst.

Catalyst Brunch

Catalyst Restaurant serves a modern American cuisine with slight French influence. According to their website, they also feature “products centered on locally grown organic produce and wild and farm raised food from sustainable practices.”

Untitled

You can’t tell by the picture above but it was a rainy Sunday. It has been raining for hours! I walked in and was greeted by a host and shown where the rest of the brunchers were. There was a sitting area with a see through fireplace.

Untitled

I loved the wall behind the bar made of reclaimed barn wood, with lights shining down on it.

Untitled

Our table- There were some new brunchers and old friends!

Catalyst Brunch

A view behind our table, looking toward the kitchen.

Untitled

On the way to brunch, I pulled up their website and saw that they had their brunch menu posted and picked out a few potential items. When I looked at the menu we were provided, I noticed a few differences. Our waitress who was very friendly and also knowledgeable, said that the menu changes weekly.

Untitled

We started off with drinks, I got a coffee to start. I loved the milk container!

Untitled

Then we were offered the mimosa of the day- a seasonal Apple mimosa! So good!

Catalyst Brunch

We got a few things for the table to share!! The best thing ever!

Cinnamon Coffee cake in a mini skillet. I really liked the oats in it.

Catalyst Brunch

The biggest scones I’ve ever seen. Chocolate chip scones with dulce de leche
Catalyst Brunch

We also tried the spicy maple syrup wings. They weren’t very spicy, so don’t worry about that. But they had a good, sweet, but not too sweet flavor! The little pots were cute!
Catalyst Brunch

I tried a little bit of each. Just so that you know that I didn’t eat full servings, here were my portions.

Catalyst Brunch

I normally go for the pancakes or french toast, but this time, I wanted to try something different. I went for the meat and egg dish- the poached farm egg, beef tournedo, Parmesan cheese grits topped with hollandaise sauce.   To answer your question, tournedo is a cut that is the most tender and normally, smaller and round in shape. When I got it, I thought it was small, but it was so tender and full of flavor!

I have become so adventurous in my eating. A year ago, the only type of egg that I had had was scrambled. Now I eat all types!

The cheese grits were fantastic! I would have eaten more!
Catalyst Brunch

I said that I would have normally ordered the french toast. Well, an order was placed for the table to share- yay!!!

These were encrusted with panko crumbs! It was super crunchy and sweet. It reminded me of a funnel cake/elephant ear. I was glad that I ordered the egg and beef, instead of the french toast. It would be good to share, but I would have been disappointed if that was my main dish. The blob on the top looks like a banana, but it was bourbon whipped butter. Sadly, I didn’t get to try that!
Catalyst Brunch

My neighbor, Taryn, got the omelet with mushroom and mozzarella, with a side of home fries. The small skillet was an order of pork belly hash.
Catalyst Brunch

I would definitely recommend Catalyst for brunch and I’d like to go back for lunch or dinner.

This brunch was free of charge, but all opinions are my own!   

2 thoughts on “Brunching at Catalyst in Cambridge

  1. Pingback: Brunching at Catalyst in Cambridge – Boston Rookie | Boston Brunchers

Leave a Reply

