Charles River Cruise

Last Saturday, I went on a 1 hour narrated cruise of the Charles River. The Charles is the river that forms the boundary between Boston and Cambridge. I cross the Charles every day on my way to and from work on the train. The train is normally too crowded in the morning to look outside while crossing it, but I am familiar with the skyline and buildings that create it.

IMG_8944

I had a Groupon for the Charles River Boat Company that I purchased earlier in the year that expired last Sunday. There’s nothing like waiting till the last minute, but the sun was shining and it was a beautiful day.

There are 6 river cruises daily from mid May to mid Oct.
IMG_8951

It departs from the Cambridgeside Galleria Mall near the Lechmere station (Green Line).
IMG_8953

The main seating area is enclosed, but you can go out and sit near the front of the boat.
IMG_8914

I went to the front to get a picture with the city behind me
IMG_8935

Looking toward Boston, along the Esplande
IMG_0095

On the way back, our boat got close to the MIT sailing club:
IMG_0094

Here is a building on the Cambridge side that I love. It’s near MIT and I think they use it as dorm housing now.
IMG_8940

Another picture of MIT and the famous dome (left side) and weather station on the top tower.
IMG_8943

With the Boston skyline and fall foliage
IMG_0092

The Prudential Tower. One of the tallest and most distinguishable buildings in Boston.
IMG_0091

The famous Citgo sign near Fenway Park
IMG_0086

The John Hancock tower
IMG_0085

The Longfellow Bridge (also called the Salt and Pepper bridge)
IMG_8948

The tour normally goes to Harvard and turns around, but there were so many crew (rowing) boats out practicing for the famous Head of the Charles boat race that is taking place this weekend, that we had to turn around early without seeing that end of the Charles River, but I’ve been there lots of times (including again yesterday), so I have some pictures that I’ll post later about the boat race.

2 thoughts on “Charles River Cruise

Leave a Reply

