The Brunchers go to the Ballet

Last Thursday, I got to go to the Boston Ballet through the Boston Brunchers!  I’ve never to the Boston Ballet and it had been probably over 10 years since I’ve been to see the Nutcracker at the Louisville Ballet- so I was excited for this evening!

Sip and Boston Ballet

I brought my friend Danie who has just talking about wanting to see the Boston Ballet just a few days before getting the tickets- so I knew who I was going to ask to accompany me! It was their Fall Program, which ran Oct 25- Nov 4th.

We met up at Sip, a wine bar and restaurant.

It’s called Sip because you can order wine 4 different ways- starting with just a “sip”, a half or full glass, or a bottle.
Sip and Boston Ballet

I got a glass of the Walnut Crest ~ (cabernet sauvignon).
Sip and Boston Ballet

We ordered the meatballs:
Sip and Boston Ballet

We got the polenta fries….. although we didn’t know that’s what they were because….
Sip and Boston Ballet

We had ordered the sweet potatoe fries, which were lacking something…. sauce maybe.
Sip and Boston Ballet

And the flatbread:
Sip and Boston Ballet

We had a great meal and we were ready for the ballet. Sip was just down the street from the Boston Opera House where the Ballet was… and the building is gorgeous!
Sip and Boston Ballet

We stopped to get our tickets and swag bag
Sip and Boston Ballet

It was beautiful down every hall
Sip and Boston Ballet

We found our seats!
Sip and Boston Ballet

With a few minutes to spare
Sip and Boston Ballet

The curtain opened and the first Act was Rooster which premiered in Switzerland in 1991 and was my favorite of the evening. The music was set to the Rolling Stones and was so much fun to watch! One of my favorite parts of the evening was that I got to see a fellow bruncher blogger Rachel on stage! I followed her across the stage and was amazed at how great of a dancer she was!!! I got goosebumps! Rooster was so upbeat, fun, and fresh!

Sip and Boston Ballet

Next was Awake Only, set to piano and organ music of Johan Sebastian Bach. This was what I would call more traditional and classic ballet and I had a hard time following the story, but there was a young child on stage that had everyone’s attention. It was neat to see the world premiere of a ballet!

Sip and Boston Ballet

The final part was called the Second Detail, set to music of Thom Willems and choreographed by William Forsythe. This seemed very modern and futuristic with the metallic costumes and electronic sounding music. There were lots of dancers on stage and there was a lot going on and always something interesting to see.

Sip and Boston Ballet

The Boston Ballet is gearing up for the Nutcracker and I bet would be great!

*I received the ballet tickets for free but the opinions expressed are mine.

2 thoughts on “The Brunchers go to the Ballet

  1. Pingback: The Brunchers Go To The Ballet – Boston Rookie | Boston Brunchers

Leave a Reply

