Shabu-Zen in Allston

Last Friday night, I got to go to Shabu-Zen in Allston- just outside Boston. It’s a favorite place, although it was just my 2nd time there!

It’s an Asian hot-pot place. Here’s their menu. For those of you new to hot-pot or shabu-shabu, it’s a fun experience. There’s a hot plate in your table, they bring a huge pot of broth that you choice (pork, chicken, veg), rice and/or noodles, and then they bring vegetables and the sides of meat, tofu, or whatever you decide.

IMG_9612

There were 3 of us and look at all the dishes and food! You put the veggies and meat in the pot to cook. It takes a little while, but it so much fun!

IMG_9614

See the plates of meat? It’s very thin sliced chicken and beef! Those yellow squares that look like butter are tofu. I tried 1 piece, but I don’t really care for it.
I spotted a sign on the wall for a Hello Kitty-tini. I debated on whether or not to get it, and I decided to go for it! And it was really good.

IMG_9611

And it was super cute!
IMG_9610

I checked to see if a shabu-shabu place exists in Louisville (my hometown). I thought that it would be fun to go to while I am visiting for Christmas in a few weeks, but I couldn’t find one. Bummer! I guess I’ll have to go back to Shabu-Zen then!

5 thoughts on “Shabu-Zen in Allston

  1. Soni

    This is a FANTASTIC restaurant!!! I’ve NEVER been to this kind of restaurant; really looks like fun too.
    Who ever heard of a Hello Kitty alcoholic drink!! Hope you enjoyed it!!! Looked wonderful.
    See you soon!!!

    Like

  2. Erica

    Did you taste the tofu after it was cooked? It takes on whatever flavor it’s cooked with. But if you don’t cook it, it just tastes like a sponge.

    Like

Leave a Reply

