Brunching at Back Deck

Last weekend, I had the opportunity to join my fellow Boston Brunchers at the Back Deck in Boston for what else- BRUNCH!

The restaurant uses a lot of wood and greenery make it look like you’re outside, on the back deck.
IMG_0150

I quickly noticed the wooden, deck-like table and chairs. There is a bar area with a tv.
IMG_0121

Now to the food and drink- I had their winter sangria.
IMG_0126

The drink menu
IMG_0124

We ordered a few appetizers for the table and the cameras came out when they arrived!

IMG_0137

Hot wings
IMG_0132

Grapefruit
IMG_0131

Here’s what I tried. Starting at 12, I had my first brussels sprout, a hot wing with celery, another first- grilled chicken livers over watercress with a garlic dressing, a grilled pink grapefruit drizzled with honey, and eggplant dip with grilled pita. My favorites were the grapefruit and eggplant dip.
IMG_0139

My dish- The Eggs Diablo. It was 2 poached two eggs, spicy pork, black beans, tortillas & habañero peppers, with hollandaise ($11) See the orange specks on the eggs? The peppers!  I tried to take off as much as possible because I forgot to ask them to put them on the side. They certainly gave them a kick. The eggs were perfect!

IMG_0157

Jen’s French toast with bourbon & brown sugar glazed and stuffed with bananas.
IMG_0142

Jess’ Chicken and Sweet Potato Hash with two poached eggs
IMG_0141

And we ordered a few desserts for the table, including smores. They had regular and cranberry marshmallows. They made their own graham crackers.
IMG_0155

Chocolate Cake
IMG_0153

And we had ice cream, that was delicious from Toscanini’s in Cambridge. Somehow I managed not to take a picture, but there was none left- probably not even a drop. It was that good.

Note: This meal was provided to me free from Back Deck, but all of the opinions expressed here are mine.

 

5 comments

Leave a Reply

