Brunch at Ball Square Cafe in Somerville

A few weeks ago, I went to the Ball Square Cafe in Somerville with the Boston Brunchers.

Ball Square Cafe

I had heard of the restaurant, but hadn’t been before. We don’t do many brunches on this side of the Charles, so I was excited to get invited. I was going to the Blog and Tweet Fitness class at Pure Barre later that afternoon so I was going to work off some of the calories.

I arrived at the cafe and there was a line. I felt awful to just cut in front of everyone, but I saw some of my fellow bloggers at the front of the restaurant.  Look at the line…..

Ball Square Cafe

We were seated at the front and welcomed by Mike, the owner. He, along with the rest of the staff were so accommodating. They moved tables around for us, explained the dishes, and put in an order of assorted sweet dishes for us to try!
Ball Square Cafe

It’s a pretty small place, but they got us in and out quickly. This was the shortest and quickest brunch ever for us.
Ball Square Cafe

They have a self-service coffee station, so I was excited that I could try a few different things and help myself don’t mind if I do!
Ball Square Cafe

The food starts to arrive and everyone pulls out their cameras:
Ball Square Cafe

Mike ordered waffles, french toast, and fruit for us.
Ball Square Cafe

The Waffles with berries and whipped cream
Ball Square Cafe

Fruit bowl
Ball Square Cafe

The french toast, which I got to try a little bit that was left.
Ball Square Cafe

And there’s still a line outside:
Ball Square Cafe

And the entrees arrived.
Ball Square Cafe

I had a hard time deciding, but I wanted to try the bacon and croissant
Ball Square Cafe

And I got a half order of the avocado and tomato eggs benedict, topped with hollandaise sauce.
Ball Square Cafe

I’d for sure go back. The line is intimidating and I am one of the most impatient people I know especially when I am hungry, but it wouldn’t be a bad wait if the weather is nice.

This meal was provided free of charge to me, but these are my opinions.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

