March Update on my 31 by 31 list

I was talking at work about my 31 by 31 list the other day and realized that it had been a while since reviewing it. I looked back on the blog and October was the last update. Wow, time has flown! So with less than 5 months left…..

Here we go…… I marked the to-do’s in red. 

  1. Visit a new state: DONE.
    I went to New Jersey in August. But I’ll always work on going to new places!August Vacation
  2. Try 4 new foods- beets, grapefruit, chicken liver, brussel sprout. DONE.
    I tried the chicken liver and brussel sprout at the Backdeck for brunch.
  3. Camp/Sleep Outdoors
  4. Have/make fondue- cheese or chocolate. DONE. I got a fondue set for Christmas and have had both cheese and chocolate!
    Chocolate fondue time
  5. Bake with apples/pumpkin: DONE.
    I baked lots of apple crisps and apple bread in October. I made a few things with pumpkin, including chili.
  6. Go hiking/biking at least 10 miles outside of the city
  7. Have a picnic
  8. Visit Wahl BurgersA hamburger place owned by the
    Wahlberg brothers. DONE.
  9. Join a CSA- DONE.
    I’ve done this and need to write about it. It’s tied to # 2 and #19.
  10. Visit the Bunker Hill Monument
  11. Go to Flour Bakery and make something from the cook book.
    I got the cook book for Christmas, but I still haven’t picked anything yet. I just went to Flour on Saturday and it was so good!March
  12. Volunteer twice– HALF DONE.
    I volunteered at the Brewfest in October.
    IMG_8776
  13. Continue exercising 3 days a week– I had an ankle injury in Sept-mid November, so I had to rest during that time. And then Winter hit Boston…. But I am back at it now.
  14. Go apple picking/farm/orchard DONE.
    Honey Pot Hill this past fall.
    IMG_8793
  15. Go to a hockey game
  16. Visit Newport, RI
  17. Boston Art Project- DONE.
    I took some pictures of the city, ordered prints, and hung 3 8 X 10’s in my room.
  18. Read 1 book a month– On Target.
    I’ve done well with this since I have a 50 minute commute each way to work. Mystic River, Something Borrowed, Love the One You’re With, Heart of the Matter, and Something Borrowed. I have a few others started and in the queue.
  19. 1 new recipe a month– I’ve done well this too – with some help!
    Here’s few pictures. A pasta dish that I can’t remember how to spell: IMG_8870
    A potato soup:
    IMG_8888
  20. 1 new baking item a month. This past week was a great start to this, but I think I did okay for Aug and Sept. I’ll have to look back. I know I made Chocolate zucchini cookies in August and a Red Velvet cake in September. Here’s one of my apple bread loaves
    IMG_8875
  21. Attend a new Festival/fair
  22. Do at least a 10k race
  23. New exercise/ physical  activity – DONE.
    I did Hot yoga!! And survived
  24. 4 sewing/craft projects. HALF DONE.
    I started a fleece blanket and I made a wreath
  25. Watch the sunrise.
    This is the 1 item left over from last year’s list. I was on a 6am flight once and technically watched the sunrise, but that wasn’t exactly what I was hoping!
  26. Visit new brewery- DONE
    Budweiser in New Hampshire
  27. Visit winery- DONE
    Thanksgiving Weekend in New York State
  28. Create a Financial plan- I did my taxes for the first time ever and I am doing some planning now. 
  29. Go on a Vacation- Okay, a few things are in the works for the spring and summer- including traveling to GA for Danie’s wedding in August.
  30. Bike 40 miles in a day
  31. New water activity– paddleboard, rafting, canoeing

So I’m about halfway done with the list. A lot of the items are related to outside, so I’m hoping spring weather comes soon!!

6 comments

  1. What did you think of the hot yoga? I did it once at the studio Erica B works at. It was a good workout but not something I necessarily want to repeat… 😉

    Like

  2. I am so proud of you – this really is a great accomplishment. Good for you. New adventures are great. Most of them anyway. Hugs

    Like

Leave a Reply

