Boston Marathon 2013

I’m sure everyone reading this knows about the tragic events that happened at the finish line of the 2013 Boston Marathon. Most of you are either family and friends that live in Kentucky/Indiana or you are a local reader.
20130417-223448.jpgI had dozens of friends and family try to reach out to me when they heard of the bombings at the marathon. Being a runner, some thought that I may have been down there to watch. They wanted to know that I was safe and unharmed.
20130417-223524.jpg
I decided to work Monday, although it’s a local holiday. I had posted on Facebook earlier in the day that I wished I had taken the day off. I was on my way to Barre class at 6:30 and saw runners and spectators on the train. The sun was shining on my way to work. I had thought about volunteering at the finish line with my friend Jen.

When the bombs went off, I was 3 miles away, at work in a conference room away from my phone, so I had no clue what happened until an hour later. I spent the next half hour returning text messages, Facebook posts and emails, and trying to make phone calls. I was also trying to see if the friends that I knew were watching marathon had tweeted or posted on Facebook that they were safe.

I’ve read some of their accounts of their day and it was heart-wrenching to read. Some barely made it down the street, or were a block away and made a last minute decision to go down another street or to head home.

I haven’t been down to the area yet, but I wanted to share some photos that were taken tonight that I got from social media friends on Instagram.
20130417-222511.jpg
20130417-222517.jpg
20130417-222842.jpg
I send my thoughts and prayers to the victims and their families.

7 thoughts on “Boston Marathon 2013

  1. Soni

    This really scared all of us!! And thank goodness Wendy found out you were okay and still at work. Everyone let everyone else know you were ‘fine and dandy’. Big relief!!!
    Take care.

    Like

  2. I’m so glad you’re ok! I was at work when it happened too, and as soon as I heard I checked Facebook I saw your post about being in a conference when it happened. I knew several people up there and thankfully all are okay.

    Like

Leave a Reply

