Introduction to Photography Class

A few weeks ago, I took my first photography class with Remember Forever. They offer classes in Boston, Washington D.C., NYC, Philly, and Las Vegas.

Untitled

I took the Introduction class called Love Your Camera, Love Your Photos. I’ve had my DSLR Canon EOS Rebel T2i for 3 years now. I had always been interested in photography since middle school, but didn’t really know much about it. But I always took pictures, especially on vacation and the holidays. When I first got my camera, I got some instructions on how to use some of the manual settings, but I went back to using the automatic mode. I was scared and overwhelmed with all the buttons and switches.

I decided to take a class to see if it was something that I wanted to get back into. And yes, I do.  I just ordered a new lens tonight!

Back to my class. It was a 3 hour class on a Saturday morning. We meet at the Boston Common and the class was pretty large, according to Matt, our instructor. We got started on time though!

Untitled

At first, we sat down and Matt went over briefly what we’d be learning in the next 3 hours and showed us how to get to each mode on our different cameras.

My last picture taken in automatic mode.

Untitled

We had Nikons, Canons, Sonys, and a few other types. Matt taught us about ISO (how sensitive it is to light) and also aperture (how big the opening is). And then we had to practice! We had a few assignments and came back to share and ask questions.

Untitled

We then went over shutter speed (how long the shutter is open while taking the picture), white balance, and also exposure metering in pure manual mode.  Again, we were given an assignment and came back to share.

Matt demonstrating a filter and how it works. I need to learn more about these and which ones to use and when.
Untitled

Next are some examples of the different techniques and how I adjusted the settings.

Bad
Untitled

Better
Untitled

Demonstrating shutter speed with moving objects.
Too slow, blurry
Untitled

Faster, not blurry
Untitled

Comparing shots

Untitled

Aperture. See how the photographer is in focus, but the background is blurred.
Untitled

Manual Focus- Using the light meter

Too dark
Untitled

Too washed out
Untitled

Better
Untitled

I loved that they electronically sent us a workbook with notes and examples after the class. I didn’t have to worry about writing everything done during the class. I took a night photography class the week after and really liked that one too. I hope to get some pictures up soon from that. I recommend the class if you want to learn how to use your DSLR. It’ a good mix of getting an overview of the camera settings, assignments, sharing with others, getting feedback, and asking lots of questions.

They also provided us with a discount for our next class and I’m passing that along. So fellow Bostonians (or visitors to Boston), use code “Welcome2Boston” for 25% off a Remember Forever class.

5 thoughts on “Introduction to Photography Class

  1. Stacy Perkins

    Too Cool! Cassondra will love looking at these. She is taking a photography class at Manual and hopes to take the advanced class next year!

    Like

  2. Wendy

    I have got to get into a class to know more about my camera too. Not sure how long I’ve had my dSLR now, but I still don’t know how to use it. Thanks for sharing, I’m going to be on the lookout for a Groupon or something around here.

    Like

  3. Soni

    Sorry I was so long seeing this–WOW!!!
    Some day, if it doesn’t get better, I’m going to call Time Warner Cable!! (the company that took over Insight Cable.)

    I’m very proud of you taking these lessons!!! Keep up the good work!
    hugs,

    Like

Leave a Reply

