Recap of Boston Christmas Festival 2014

The Boston Christmas Festival took place over 3 days (November 7th-9th 2014) and I went on Saturday November 8th.

Boston Christmas festival

It was in the World Trade Center area and was a quick walk from the WTC T-stop (Silverline). It was on my old route to work and I had to really pay attention not to miss the WTC stop.

It was a beautiful November day! The sun was shining and everything!
Boston

In my mind, there were 3 areas: arts and craft vendors, specialty food vendors, and the gingerbread competition. It opened at 10am and I arrived at 10:05. There was a line to get tickets, but lucky I had gotten my tickets earlier and walked right in.  Once in the exhibition area, I started with the arts and craft section.

Boston Christmas festival

There were a few pottery booths, including one with a potter making things in front of you. That was pretty cool and I had to wait to get to see it.
Boston Christmas festival

There were booths with photography, paintings, wood painted items, and leather products.
Boston Christmas festival

They also had booths selling sewn products, soaps, lotion, and hand-made jewelry.
Boston Christmas festival

There was 1 (or 2, I can’t remember because it got so packed) aisles with booths selling baked goods, dip mixes, BBQ sauce, hot sauce, nuts, and olive oil.

Here were largest whoopie pies I’ve seen.
Boston Christmas festival

Baked goods
Boston Christmas festival

Hot Chocolate Balls. I was bummed they didn’t have samples, but you drop the ball of chocolate into a milk, heat, and then stir!
Boston Christmas festival

Boston Christmas festival

The gingerbread competition was neat. Different restaurants/bakeries made them and other businesses “bought them” as a fundraiser for a non-profit organization called Housing Families. They were also judged and had different categories.

I liked the Paris scene with the Eiffel Tower.
Boston Christmas festival

The Frozen gingerbread house, which all the kids loved!
Boston Christmas festival

A scene from Never Never Land.
Boston Christmas festival

I liked this house and barn.
Boston Christmas festival

This was probably my favorite. I’m a traditionalist!
Boston Christmas festival

Side detail
Boston Christmas festival

Another Frozen Castle
Boston Christmas festival

A cute house.
Boston Christmas festival

It was fun!  It got packed, on Saturday morning, so I’d suggest to go at a different time next year!

 

4 thoughts on “Recap of Boston Christmas Festival 2014

  1. pam

    Wow! That would have been fun. I would love to have my family with me to buy Christmas gifts there. Wouldn’t that have been fun Erica? How much did it cost to get in? I hate paying when they want to sell me things. Although it was for a good cause.

    Like

  2. Glad you were able to move around the festival floor.

    My husband & I got there around 11:30 AM and it was so packed with people that it was hard to move. We didn’t end up buying anything – but the gingerbread displays were fun!

    Like

  3. Soni

    This was FANTASTIC!!! I’ve always wanted a potter’s wheel (but realized I couldn’t make the beautiful bowls etc)
    Have never seen hot chocolate balls before; bet they were delicious.
    Loved the frozen gingerbread mansion! Really liked the scene about Robin Williams too.
    Also loved ‘your favorite houses’-I’ve never seen any gingerbread house ‘lit up with lights’ either.
    Thanks for sharing this with us~!!

    Like

  4. aunt Patsy Jenks

    There is just something about craft shows that is exciting – you never know what you are going to find. you have to appreciate some of the talents involved and it encourages your own creativity. thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

