Volunteer in Boston with One Brick

Looking for ways to volunteer in Boston?

My work encourages volunteerism, so I have been looking for opportunities recently. I have volunteered several times with One Brick Boston, including a few 5k events in Cambridge.

Untitled//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

I love the way that One Brick Boston is set up. They partner and support local non-profit and community organizations and create a unique, social and flexible volunteer environment for people like me. One Brick posts opportunities to volunteer without the requirements of individual long-term commitments. I don’t always know what my schedule looks like months in advance and I can’t commit to the same day each week or month. I like to look at their calendar a few weeks out and pick events to volunteer. From their website:

Our ‘commitment-free volunteering’ allows you to choose when you volunteer, rather than having to make commitments for a certain number of volunteer hours, or agree to be available every week at a specific time.

My first 5K, I worked the bag check and had a fun time working with the other volunteers and runners before and after the race.

Untitled//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

Another way to help is to use a special link before making an Amazon.com purchase. Amazon donates 7% of the total sale to One Brick.

In April, I volunteered at the Banned in Boston event. The Governor and other local politicians and media people put on a comedy show.

Untitled//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

Before the show, I was stationed with other volunteers to check in people by looking up their name on an iPad app and by giving them different colored wristbands.

Untitled

Check out One Brick Boston if looking for ways to help out in Boston.

2 comments

  1. I’m so glad you’re able to volunteer at such wonderful events! You stay so busy and enjoy each day-fantastic!!
    Take care, lots of love and hugs!

    Like

Leave a Reply

