Leopold’s Ice Cream in Savannah

Finishing up our recap in Savannah…..

After taking refuge in a pub during a rain storm, we ventured out in search of Leopold’s Ice Cream in Savannah, GA.

This was one of the top of places to visit to eat on my must-do list! I mainly use TripAdvisor for tourist places like this and also Yelp for restaurants.

Savannah GA

On a Tuesday afternoon, there was a wait, but it seemed to go pretty quickly, especially since I was trying to decide between a kids size or an ice cream sandwich.

Savannah GA

For ice cream, they had 3 sizes: Double, Single, and Kids. But they also had sundaes, ice cream sodas, ice cream sandwiches, milk shakes, and floats.

They had 3 cases of flavors to pick from and you could get samples. I normally opt for chocolates, cookie doughs, and mocha chip flavors. But something called Tutti Fruitti peaked my interested because the menu said it was their “hallmark” flavor and a Savannah favorite. The description said “Rum ice cream with candied fruit and fresh roasted Georgia pecans. The Original since 1919!” I had to try it! It was pretty good, but I wouldn’t want a whole scoop of it – that is where samples come in!
Savannah GA

I opted for a kids scoop ($2.95) of chocolate chocolate chip and Tony got a milkshake, but I can’t remember the exact flavor, but I’m thinking it was mocha chocolate chip. I can remember that the chips weren’t the shape of chocolate chips, they were thin chunks/shavings and it was a nice surprise!

You’ll notice that I don’t have any pictures of what we got! Pregnant lady alert! Photos can’t come between me and my ice cream sometimes.

Savannah GA

As you can see, they had several tables and could seat probably 20. After I finished my kids scoop and we waiteed for Tony’s milkshake to melt a little, I was reading through the brochure and learned more about Leopolds.

History: It was founded by 3 brothers in 1919 from Greece. They worked on their recipes and opened their ice cream parlor where two streetcar lines intersected-genius! It became famous locally and a famed lyricist Johnny Mercer lived nearby and was a fan but moved to Hollywood and wrote a song about that tutti fruitti ice cream.

While in the shop, we noticed movie memorabilia and wondered the connection. Stratton Leopold, the current owner and operator of Leopold’s Ice Cream, is the youngest son of original founder Peter Leopold. He ended up going to Hollywood and worked his way to become a producer and Vice President of Production at Paramount Pictures- that explained the memorabilia and movie posters!

They are open Daily, at least till 10pm but later in the summer. They also offer soups, salads, sandwiches, and other baked goods.

Leopold’s Ice Cream
212 E. Broughton St.
Savannah, GA

Leave a Reply

